mirror of
https://github.com/qdrant/landing_page.git
synced 2026-09-28 23:48:31 +02:00
101 lines
4.0 KiB
Markdown
101 lines
4.0 KiB
Markdown
---
|
|
title: Backup Clusters
|
|
weight: 61
|
|
---
|
|
|
|
# Backing up Qdrant Cloud Clusters
|
|
|
|
Qdrant organizes cloud instances as clusters. On occasion, you may need to
|
|
restore your cluster because of application or system failure.
|
|
|
|
You may already have a source of truth for your data in a regular database. If you
|
|
have a problem, you could reindex the data into your Qdrant vector search cluster.
|
|
However, this process can take time. For high availability critical projects we
|
|
recommend replication. It guarantees the proper cluster functionality as long as
|
|
at least one replica is running.
|
|
|
|
For other use-cases such as disaster recovery, you can set up automatic or
|
|
self-service backups.
|
|
|
|
## Prerequisites
|
|
|
|
You can back up your Qdrant clusters though the Qdrant Cloud
|
|
Dashboard at https://cloud.qdrant.io. This section assumes that you've already
|
|
set up your cluster, as described in the following sections:
|
|
|
|
- [Create a cluster](/documentation/cloud/create-cluster/)
|
|
- Set up [Authentication](/documentation/cloud/authentication/)
|
|
- Configure one or more [Collections](/documentation/concepts/collections/)
|
|
|
|
## Automatic backups
|
|
|
|
You can set up automatic backups of your clusters with our Cloud UI. With the
|
|
procedures listed in this page, you can set up
|
|
snapshots on a daily/weekly/monthly basis. You can keep as many snapshots as you
|
|
need. You can restore a cluster from the snapshot of your choice.
|
|
|
|
> Note: When you restore a snapshot, consider the following:
|
|
> - The affected cluster is not available while a snapshot is being restored.
|
|
> - If you changed the cluster setup after the copy was created, the cluster
|
|
resets to the previous configuration.
|
|
> - The previous configuration includes:
|
|
> - CPU
|
|
> - Memory
|
|
> - Node count
|
|
> - Qdrant version
|
|
|
|
### Configure a backup
|
|
|
|
After you have taken the prerequisite steps, you can configure a backup with the
|
|
[Qdrant Cloud Dashboard](https://cloud.qdrant.io). To do so, take these steps:
|
|
|
|
1. Sign in to the dashboard
|
|
1. Select Clusters.
|
|
1. Select the cluster that you want to back up.
|
|

|
|
1. Find and select the **Backups** tab.
|
|
1. Now you can set up a backup schedule.
|
|
The **Days of Retention** is the number of days after a backup snapshot is
|
|
deleted.
|
|
1. Alternatively, you can select **Backup now** to take an immediate snapshot.
|
|
|
|

|
|
|
|
### Restore a backup
|
|
|
|
If you have a backup, it appears in the list of **Available Backups**. You can
|
|
choose to restore or delete the backups of your choice.
|
|
|
|

|
|
|
|
<!-- I think we should move this to the Snapshot page, but I'll do it later -->
|
|
|
|
## Backups with a snapshot
|
|
|
|
Qdrant also offers a snapshot API which allows you to create a snapshot
|
|
of a specific collection or your entire cluster. For more information, see our
|
|
[snapshot documentation](/documentation/concepts/snapshots/).
|
|
|
|
Here is how you can take a snapshot and recover a collection:
|
|
|
|
1. Take a snapshot:
|
|
- For a single node cluster, call the snapshot endpoint on the exposed URL.
|
|
- For a multi node cluster call a snapshot on each node of the collection.
|
|
Specifically, prepend `node-{num}-` to your cluster URL.
|
|
Then call the [snapshot endpoint](../../concepts/snapshots/#create-snapshot) on the individual hosts. Start with node 0.
|
|
- In the response, you'll see the name of the snapshot.
|
|
2. Delete and recreate the collection.
|
|
3. Recover the snapshot:
|
|
- Call the [recover endpoint](../../concepts/snapshots/#recover-in-cluster-deployment). Set a location which points to the snapshot file (`file:///qdrant/snapshots/{collection_name}/{snapshot_file_name}`) for each host.
|
|
|
|
## Backup considerations
|
|
|
|
Backups are incremental. For example, if you have two backups, backup number 2
|
|
contains only the data that changed since backup number 1. This reduces the
|
|
total cost of your backups.
|
|
|
|
You can create multiple backup schedules.
|
|
|
|
When you restore a snapshot, any changes made after the date of the snapshot
|
|
are lost.
|