--- title: Role Management weight: 1 --- # Role Management > šŸ’” You can access this in **Access Management > User & Role Management** *if available see [this page for details](/documentation/cloud-rbac/).* A **Role** contains a set of **permissions** that define the ability to perform or control specific actions in Qdrant Cloud. Permissions are accessible through the Permissions tab in the Role Details page and offer fine-grained access control, logically grouped for easy identification. ## Built-In Roles Qdrant Cloud includes some built-in roles for common use-cases. The permissions for these built-in roles cannot be changed. There are three types:Ā  - The **Base Role** is assigned to all users, and provides the minimum privileges required to access Qdrant Cloud. - TheĀ **Admin Role**Ā  has all available permissions, except for account write permissions. - The **Owner Role** has all available permissions assigned, including account write permissions. There can only be one Owner per account currently. ![image.png](/documentation/cloud/role-based-access-control/built-in-roles.png) ## Custom Roles AnĀ authorized user can create their own custom roles with specific sets of permissions, giving them more control over who has what access to which resource. ![image.png]( /documentation/cloud/role-based-access-control/custom-roles.png) ### Creating a Custom Role To create a new custom role, click on theĀ **Add**Ā button at the top-right corner of theĀ **Custom Roles**Ā list. - **Role Name**: Must be unique across roles. - **Role Description**: Brief description of the role’s purpose. Once created, the new role will appear under the **Custom Roles** section in the navigation. ![image.png](/documentation/cloud/role-based-access-control/create-custom-role.png) ### Editing a Custom Role To update a specific role's permissions, select it from the list and click on theĀ **Permissions**Ā tab. Here, you'll find logically grouped options that are easy to identify and edit as needed. Once you've made your changes, save them to apply the updated permissions to the role. ![image.png](/documentation/cloud/role-based-access-control/update-permission.png) ### Renaming, Deleting and Duplicating a Custom Role Each custom role can be renamed, duplicated or deleted via the action buttons located to the right of the role title bar. - **Rename**: Opens a dialog allowing users to update both the role name and description. - **Delete**: Triggers a confirmation prompt to confirm the deletion. Once confirmed, this action is irreversible. Any users assigned to the deleted role will automatically be unassigned from it. - **Duplicate:** Opens a dialog asking for a confirmation and also allowing users to view the list of permissions that will be assigned to the duplicated role ![image.png](/documentation/cloud/role-based-access-control/role-actions.png)